Porsche

The end is near…..

Spring through fall is one of my favorite times of the year around the shop (I know, that leaves out only winter). Well, I wouldn’t say around the shop, because most of this excitement takes place in other states. I am talking about track season. As the snow starts to melt, I dust off the cars and start getting them prepped for another year of racing. I maintain many cars for PCA club racing, as well as cars which only see drivers education (DE) events, not only in the Porsche realm, but also for Audi and BMW. Typically you will find me a couple times a month at various tracks across the Midwest, some of those including Hastings (NE), Mid America (IA), Hallett (OK), Heartland Park Topeka (KS), Road America (WI), Brainard (MN), as well as others. Most of the time you will find me running around the tarmac like a chicken with my head cut off, trying to help whomever may need help at the time. I have met a lot of very nice people from all over the country who all share the same passion as I, and there is not a better way to spend the weekend. It can get very crazy some weekends, but like they say, “A bad day at the track still beats a good day at the office.” And so far this year has been very good. The cars have all ran very well, and the drivers have placed extremely well amongst stiff competition. We have finally sorted out our one problem child car, and it has never run better, and continues to have podium finishes. The only thing that could make it better, would be to have more cars on the track. That may be something I regret saying in the future when everything hits the fan at once, but there is nothing better than watching a half dozen of your cars go flying around the track trying to catch each other. The highlight of this year was our trip to Road America, and a session riding with Tim Peterson in his 996 Supercup car. If you have ever run Road America, you can imagine what that may have been like. We are fortunate to have such a great group of guys to travel with and meet up with. But alas, all good things come to an end, and with only a few events left for the year, I will soon find myself finishing up the end of the year maintenance, and throwing the car covers on for a long winter’s nap. While the cars sleep though, trust me, I am already planning for the next season.

Doc

Tom HaysA few CarsAl Hess #7#121 Brian Forsyth

Leave a Reply

