911, 911 Porsche, dyno run, EFI, engine builder, engine rebuild, Forced induction, porsche body kit, porsche performance, Projects, suspension, turbo Porsche

Jan 13th..Monster lives again

When I started this company in the 90s it was started as a hobby-a passion and to be honest nothing more than an outlet to give myself a justification to spend money and build fast Porsches. (Not to mention an excuse as to why the money was flying out the door on these cars.)  Phrases like, “this is not acceleration its violence” “we can’t explain vertigo but we can build it” “knowledge is HP” all line the walls of our history. We called those out that weren’t real and shoved anything in my car that made sense and a lot of things that didn’t make sense. Up until the point I bought my first 930 I had owned mostly NA cars. The fasted being a SC that I shoved a blower in. Then I drove my first turbo…the rest is history.

dsc01521.jpg

 I entered in the turbo world with a ratted out 930. It had 60K on the clock, a missing 3rd gear, leaking oil like it was the car of Captain Hazelwood and was low enough that it had no play other than what jumped off the bump stops and a brown interior that would make your moms bathroom rug look nice! I didn’t care because I had a real 930 and I wasn’t afraid to put it together. I quickly set off and started working on it. The first weekend of sealing it off I actually cut my fingers off on the car while the engine was running. Graphs and stitches I still moved forward and tore the car apart. We raised it, ordered a K27, B&B intercooler, repaired the tranny, replaced the brakes added a stereo and painted it pearl white and changed the centers of the wheels to match the car. I shoved a 930S front nose on it and started terrorizing the streets with a beast that would shoot four foot flames. The disease started hard by this time and the motor was out more than in. Keep in mind I drove the car daily so the in and out time of the motor became a half day job. I added cams, polished Fuchs, and drove it a little more.

monsterside.jpg

monsterleftfront.jpg

monsterleftrear.jpg 

 monsterinterior2.jpg

monstermotor1.jpg

 After that became boring I set off for slant nose fenders, changed the interior again, new seats, black highlights and purchased a set of Forgeline wheels. Oh, we then added brake ducts and painted the car speed yellow. After all Kermit (another car for another story) was Speed Yellow and needed a bigger brother.

monster2side.jpg

monster2rightfront.jpg

monster2leftside.jpg

monster2taleup.jpg

 I then put my focus on the motor.  It received twin plug, larger ports, added CR and a HPV-1 system and my first modified fuel head and metering box. The car was much faster than most on the street. Running a 11.8 @124 was no small feat and the car was quickly coined “Monster” by those watching the progress on the boards. During a run with a rich kid in a Ferrari I had to prove a point and turned the HKS EVC 2 up and holed a piston. All that work down the drain. In the garage she went.

 In normal Kaspar fashion the car was about to go under the biggest change of history. I set out to build the fastest, most up to date and pretty 930 I could. I started by contacting Golden Coach Werks (Wayne) who had since retired and begged him to build me a set of real slant nose fenders. Originally I had VIP toys and they went out of business for a reason. Wayne’s fenders were leaded, used round headlights and without showing someone the trunk one could not tell they were not the real deal. We then gutted the whole interior and changed it to all black, carpet, seats, dash, a RUF tach was bought and a 210MPH speedo made. All the billet accesories we built at the time ended up in the car. I then went through the suspension, larger sways, coilovers and big reds. After fitting the big reds I quickly realized that 17s were not going to fit, so off they went and a new set of Kensis 18 inch K5s were added with black centers.

monster3side.jpg

monster3frontleft.jpg

monster3leftrear.jpg

monster3rear.jpg

monster2backseatshot.jpg

After all this work I thought….hmm the motor. I didn’t want to go with CIS anymore and I wanted well over 500 HP to the wheels with little boost and great low end drivability. The answer, a 3.6 twin turbo motor, modified K24s, custom headers, custom sump, GT2 cams, RSR valves and so much more. This was not a base TT motor I started with, this was a collection of 993NA and 964 NA parts ! I then came up with a TT system similar in placement to the 935. This created a batch of problems with fitment, mufflers, oil feed and drain and of course piping. After 6 months of continued development and endless nights I had completed my motor. I only really had two choices back in the day of EFI systems that made the most sense, Motec which you really couldn’t buy outright unless you were a dealer for them or the original Tec1 from Electromotive. The Tec1 fit the bill. I had never tuned nor even installed one of these but that didn’t stop me. I cut my teeth on EFI systems on this very car. Many hours trying to keep the car idling, running in the cold and not blowing up was just the start. Dynos were not accessible in KC at the time and tuning was done via wideband on the street. At the time a typical wideband system was 2200!! (Now less than 300 for better systems!) I used what was called the poor mans dyno =) You head out on the highway and push the brake while holding the gas, much like steady state I do today but done with the road and your brakes. Once the car was in the cell you wanted you kept the brake and gas at the cell you wanted and quickly added values while watching the AFR gauge. Once that was done you had to do your best with the timing by audible ears to hear detonation. I can’t tell you how many people I upset on the road doing these test. They took weeks! Not to mention my solution for mufflers, well more like baffles and a mile notice I was coming.

 monster3motorfront.jpg

 Once the 4 months of tuning was done we ran to St Louis to make some final tweaks and actually test the HP. We made a respectful 607HP at what was considered low boost. Still the problems came, ever tried to keep a clutch or CVs in a car like this?..good luck =) More development along wiht more midnight tows back to the shop. The end result was custom CV cages and polished CV balls and a change in the angle by lowering the motor to reduce angle on the CVs.

This car truly paved the way for what we are today. I laugh at some of the things we did (myself and at the time my 3 year old son). Time has certainly changed how and what I do. I would have never imagined what road this car would pave for this company and my knowledge of tuning cars and fabrication. I loved every minute of it because it pushed me to learn and do things that I didn’t (as well as many others) knew existed. What is so mainstream now was nonexistent when I set out on this project. This was the best of what we had back then. Hell to think people now solder their own EFI system together in the basement blows my mind. There was nothing just a short while ago. Now I sit with fans blowing 80MPH air on the car as it sits on the dyno with more gauges than a 757 sitting on the dash, one leg out the door and a computer in my lap looking for that peak TQ value as if nothing else ever existed. What a ride this is!!

Here is a little video we did after the many years of work http://www.imagineauto.com/Monster.mpg 

 Where is Monster now? Well after building the perfect car or at least the one I had on paper it was really difficult to drive, often all over the road, never hooked up and too nice to drive daily so I sold it and my 3.8 RSR C4 for a new at the time 97 993TT and started another chapter in my engine development and tuning career. The car was sold to a “track driver” who said a 934 was less hassle on the track than this car and it was shipped to Australia. It was converted to RHD and a set of Gt28s were fitted to it, the Aussie then sold it. It too was too much for him. Last I heard another owner had it and had shelled the motor and that was the last I heard of it…. 

pic00070.jpg

Leave a Reply

