911, 911 Porsche, Auto Enthusiast, auto interior, concours, dyno run, engine builder, engine rebuild, Personnel, Porsche, porsche body kit, porsche performance, Projects, racing, Uncategorized

A blast from the past, my 72 911

blog.jpg

My first Porsche was actually a 67 911S. I had known this car from afar in the neighborhood and when I graduated from college the second thing I did after confirming I actually graduated , was cash in hand head over to buy this 911. Unfortunately that was one of the best days and worst days in my Porsche world. my best because it was my first Porsche and my worst because after four hours of ownership I did the 4-1 money shift and shelled the motor. After I took it to a shop I discovered not only the motor was trashed, but so was the car. It has so much rust that we simply had to scrap the project.

While there were a few Porsches in between my love for the 911 never stopped. I searched and searched until I found a needle in a haystack. I was reading through the paper one morning and spotted a 2.8 liter 72 911T. Surly this was a mistype and he meant a 2.7. After all the 2.8 was a race motor. I called and the guy that owned the car was a med student and knew little to nothing on the car. Just that it was a 2.8 or so he was told, had some rust and leaked a lot of oil. So I headed over with my new bride and we checked the car out.

As Ms Roxy and I got in the car I reached up with my left hand and click over the key, the rough painted steed fired off with a tone that alerted me that this was no ordinary 911. As we headed out off the apartment complex my foot twitched to hit the main street.  A quick turn right and a mash to the floor and the car shot off like an arrow, the webbers screamed as I grabbed another gear and quickly glanced down at the tach to see a 7800 RPM click off before I found another gear. I slowed down and turned off, looked at Roxanne and simply said “this is it”. We headed back and made Ryan an offer. He wasn’t to happy about the lower amount, but his less than understanding wife had enough with the car and so my offer was accepted.

I headed home with the car and slowly in time found the builder of the motor. He was literally in a small town with in the metro area and knew the sound of the car when I headed up his long winding gravel road. He introduced himself and my car to me, Kermit. Yes, Kermit. This car was originally owner by one of the Ice Capades  and was driven daily from Lawrence to KC. At some point the Mrs decided to stop driving Kermit who was ice green originally from the factory and hand it over to her husband. Steve wasted no time in having this car build up to blow any other Porsche off the road at the time.  It had then changed owners one other time before this Med student snatched it up, then me. Prior to Ryan owning the car it was color changed (poorly) to a off whit Porsche color. I

 wasted no time tearing the car apart and attacking all the rust areas, adding SC flares and color changing the car. In fact the car changed colors twice while I owned it. The first round was a change to Guards red and the original phone dials (standard equipment) on the 83 911SC. The car was painted in a garage over in KCK by myself and my dad. While it was not perfect a lot of wet sanding and wheeling certainly made this car turn heads. Additionally I added what was called a C1 body kit. I was actually able to talk Roxanne in to the body kit while sitting in the ER having my eyes flushed from some unknown chemical being splashed in them while working on the car.

After some time with the car I had saved enough money to do the car right. I pulled the motor and sent the car off to be painted. While the car was gone I went through the motor and started what would be my signature in the future for detailing my motors. We confirmed that the motor was still the same. Unfortunately through time someone had taken the cams. So  we pulled the motor down, blueprinted them motor, reringed the very expensive 2.8 pistons, custom cut cams based on the RSR of the time and rebuilt the 40 IDA Webbers. The motor was never twin plugged but carried a very high 11:8:1 compression. We were fortunate enough to recurve the dist and add enough fuel through the Webbers to keep the denotation away. A light weight flywheel and sport clutch was put in at the same time. While I was doing this the car was stripped and was under going a color change to speed yellow. This too would prove to be another signature in our company. I traded half the parts I owned and my phone dials for a set of Fuchs off of a 86 951 (for the offset) and sent them off to be polished. Fitted a new set of Flaken tires and waited for the body work to be finished. Towards the end of the body work I was asked to help finish here up, so a new windshield, new seats and pedals were installed. I wanted a 930 S center console and couldn’t find one so I built one out of glass and MDF. I also updated the sound system and created my own speaker extensions on the door panels. Finally the car was complete.

I owned this car for many years, it never lost a show it entered and gave me so many experiences and stories to share. It is hard to believe that I terrorized people with a little car that made about 270 HP. It paved the way for me and allowed me to show the world what I could do. Where is now? I am not really sure. Our local dealer had it for a while. They never knew what they had traded on.  k.jpgk3.jpg

engine.jpg

interior.jpg

door.jpg

kermitmotor.jpg

Leave a Reply

